Airbag module diagnostics

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sjoerd

Hi,
Been around here for over a decade but rarely posted. Mostly stick to the German and Dutch clubs. Anyways, I bought a near new Puma with just 60k km's on the clock. But it has a problem with the airbag module. They used to be relatively easy to find/replace with one from the scrap yard, but these days are over. Ford themselves can't even get them anymore :(
For a living I am an expert in VCI's and have access to development versions & software of the Bosch VCI's. But I need some diagnostic software. And I have a few questions. I hope some of you know this.

What did Ford use back in the day as a diagnostic tool for our cars? I find a lot of info about IDS. But was that already around in 2000?

Which protocol does the airbag module use? Is it also J1850PWM?

Did anyone have luck getting the airbag module to work in Forscan?

Does anyone know why these airbag modules fail?
Mine looks like new on the inside. Nothing seems old, failed or burned. Is there anything worth trying to solder or something?

PS: When I find working diagnostic tools and VCI's I will share them here. We might get rid of a few hundred VCIs soon. I'm trying to get my employer to sell them cheap to me and arrange something for the clubs.

Was the airbag working when you got it?
Is it possible someone else fiddled with the steering wheel before you got it?

The only issue I've read with the airbag is when an incompatible one has been connected, for example from an early model Puma to late or from a Fiesta from the wrong year.

I don't have any information about the diagnostics for you sadly but wish you luck finding the answer!

I had a similar problem when swapping a steering wheel. I took the original one off and fitted a Fiesta part.