FRP map without cams?

General discussion area relating to the Ford Puma, any off topic or threads that are deemed chat/waffle will be moved to the relevant areas! Please keep ON TOPIC at all times.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
oilburner
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 1744
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 3:51 pm
Model: Other
Location: Nuneaton

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by oilburner » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:26 pm

You can only use a TAPE ECU in a car with a digital dash though it won't work in an analogue car
0 x
2016 Ford Focus 1.0 EcoBoost Zetec S

rnnicol
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:59 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by rnnicol » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:57 am

Hi folks, I've read about tape ecu,s on this forum but never understood what the difference is between the std and the tape, I'm awear you can remap a std ecu, so I'm confused why you we need a taped ecu, unless you can't remap a std eicu, its always confused me, maybe someone could explain it to me. I'll be changing my whole exhaust system to a stainless system next year, not sure which make, but probably the one that is quiet but give good performance, so would a std remap work, or a taped ecu or even using bluefinn. Anyway just thought I'd ask. Sorry to disturb the flow of this thread.
0 x

User avatar
trublustu
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 1577
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:50 pm
Model: Other
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by trublustu » Thu Nov 12, 2015 2:04 am

Hi mnicol,

The `tape` ecu is actually a four letter code. TAPE.
All Ford ecu`s have a code like this.

The 1.7 Puma came with four different ones fitted.
They look identical, except for the code.

The others fitted are MUFF DIVE and DUDE. (honestly!)

The FRP has one catalytic converter and digital dash and uses the TAPE.
Fitting it to a standard Puma gives loads of extra power.

Some standard cars came with a TAPE too, but they had standard map.
So a TAPE doesnt mean FRP map (that can cost a few quid)

I hope this explains what a `taped` ecu is. :grin:
1 x
Dedicated Track Car Progress Thread
http://www.projectpuma.com/viewtopic.php?t=26160" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
YouTube track sessions and `incidents`
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC5QLi ... 4GCrMVmmlQ" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Trackheads facebook group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/517158591786800/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

rnnicol
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:59 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by rnnicol » Fri Nov 13, 2015 6:55 pm

Kind off, ill have a look and see what is fitted to my 1.7, I'm assuming that you could remap any ecu with the frp settings of any other performance remap.

Can't believe they called one MUFF and DIVE, it just sounds so wrong ha ha, Richard
0 x

User avatar
trublustu
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 1577
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:50 pm
Model: Other
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by trublustu » Fri Nov 13, 2015 9:38 pm

To find out what ecu is fitted to your Puma you only need to lift the bonnet..

If your car has a digital odometer you will have either the DIVE or the TAPE (the mechanical odo is MUFF or DUDE)

At the back of your engine bay there are either two plugs (blue & green) or one (black)
These are the lambda sensor wires.

Two and you have a DIVE. One it`s a TAPE.
If its an older analogue odometer you`ll need to speak to a specialist such as Lightning Motorsport.
They can give you a remap on any ecu, but its £250+
0 x
Dedicated Track Car Progress Thread
http://www.projectpuma.com/viewtopic.php?t=26160" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
YouTube track sessions and `incidents`
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC5QLi ... 4GCrMVmmlQ" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Trackheads facebook group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/517158591786800/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

rnnicol
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:59 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by rnnicol » Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:58 pm

Thanks, ill have a look, I know its a digital display,ill check tomorrow
0 x

User avatar
KoNLaR
Adolescent
Adolescent
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 7:51 am
Model: 1.7
Location: Norway

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by KoNLaR » Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:45 am

trublustu wrote:To find out what ecu is fitted to your Puma you only need to lift the bonnet..

If your car has a digital odometer you will have either the DIVE or the TAPE (the mechanical odo is MUFF or DUDE)

At the back of your engine bay there are either two plugs (blue & green) or one (black)
These are the lambda sensor wires.

Two and you have a DIVE. One it`s a TAPE.
If its an older analogue odometer you`ll need to speak to a specialist such as Lightning Motorsport.
They can give you a remap on any ecu, but its £250+
What about dreamsciense? Can that map any ECU? £249 as well
0 x
Image

User avatar
trublustu
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 1577
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:50 pm
Model: Other
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by trublustu » Fri Nov 20, 2015 9:04 pm

The thing with a TAPE is that you can get an FRP map cloned for more like £80.

If you know someone with the kit and knowhow,
and someone else with an FRP (or at least a mapped ecu)
0 x
Dedicated Track Car Progress Thread
http://www.projectpuma.com/viewtopic.php?t=26160" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
YouTube track sessions and `incidents`
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC5QLi ... 4GCrMVmmlQ" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Trackheads facebook group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/517158591786800/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
trublustu
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 1577
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:50 pm
Model: Other
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by trublustu » Fri Nov 20, 2015 9:07 pm

With it being N/A some remaps are nort worth the money.
Prior to fitting my FRP map, I had an ecu with the Bluefin Superchip remap.
It was a wee bit quicker than a standard car,
but the FRP map is a WOW upgrade..
0 x
Dedicated Track Car Progress Thread
http://www.projectpuma.com/viewtopic.php?t=26160" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
YouTube track sessions and `incidents`
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC5QLi ... 4GCrMVmmlQ" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Trackheads facebook group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/517158591786800/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Dwighet
Adolescent
Adolescent
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:02 am
Model: 1.7

Re: FRP map without cams?

Post by Dwighet » Fri Nov 20, 2015 9:20 pm

I`d recommend the puma speed remap... I have an older puma(98) with a MUFF ecu.. The re map cancelled out the torque limiters in 1st and 2nd gears and give it the same fuelling as a frp map...

I was well impressed with it. Well untill i fitted frp cams and a frp gearbox, frp air box mod..... Now I cant wait to go to work to drive it...lol goes like shite off a shovel especially with the 3degrees mornings were getting here in Ireland...
0 x

petarr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 6:46 pm
Model: 1.7

FRP map without cams?

Post by petarr » Fri Jan 03, 2020 6:25 pm

frp remap without cams , working fine? also..doesnt need remap if you put cams in later?

work witbout frp inlet manofold?
0 x

CherryVimto
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 2034
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:21 pm
Model: Other
Location: Hampshire

FRP map without cams?

Post by CherryVimto » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:10 pm

Standard engine will work fine with an FRP ECU/MAP.

Adding the cams, inlet etc. will make a difference but the best gains will be with all of it together.

Putting the cams/inlet with out the MAP I don't think would make a big difference.
0 x

Roomy
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:51 pm
Model: 1.7
Location: Shropshire

FRP map without cams?

Post by Roomy » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:38 pm

I noticed the difference straight away. Full miltek system and frp air box mod, no cams. Definitely recommend. Pumanoob on here does the frp map, either with Ecu in the car or by post for more than half £250! He can map any of the Puma Ecus. Mine is a tape as standard though and I also experienced better fuel economy and I’m told I’m not the only one :grin:
Cams is on the list to do- eventually.

Richard- just adding to what Stu said, the tape is the more desired one when fitting a sports exhaust as it only supports one lambda sensor and doesn’t support EML so can save a bit of hassle.

Hanna
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Puma Area”