VCT P1381 & P1383 PLEASE HELP!!

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tomevs95

Hi all, so I'm new to the Puma owners club having only owned the car for just over a week now, when I bought the car all seemed normal, it pulled like a train no issues what so ever. It wasn't until the following afternoon that I noticed the car had lost pretty much all power throughout the rev range, at 3500rpm the VCT kicks in and the cars starts to miss fire only a little through the rest of the rev range. So getting back to work, I plugged her in and I got the code P1383 "Variable cam timing overretarded (bank 1)".

So for the hell of it I changed the CAM sensor, cleared the code and took her for a test drive, all seemed good and then I lost power again, this time I noticed it was when the car had WARMED UP. Upon getting her back to the garage I revved the car in neutral and there was no sign's of loss of power or miss fires. THOUGH UNDER FULL THROTTLE IT DOES SOUND LIKE I HAVE A K&N FILTER ON THE CAR.

So I plugged the car back in and this time I got the fault codes P1381 "Variable CAM timing OVERADVANCED". So come the following morning I went to start the car it it didn't seem to want to start, after about a minute of cranking she finally fired up and was running as normal again. Well not normal but as if it never had trouble starting. Got to work, plugged her in again and came up with another fault p0460 "Fuel Level sensor circuit malfunction" as well as the p1381 code. Since then its only had trouble starting once more.