Sounds like a 3 cylinder

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SleepyDawg

So, I have a 1.4 which I have been keeping in a garage for the most time. I start it from time to time and today it didn't fire right: it struggled a bit to start, struggled to maintain idle and just run rough. It seemed to me like one of the cylinders is not cooperating. I pulled one of the HT leads out (the shortest one) and it made no difference so I'm guessing that's the culprit right there. Can anyone tell me the fire order on the 1.4 and a good and easy way to test the coil?
Thanks in advance.

According to the Haynes Fiesta manual, the firing order is 1-3-4-2.
I'm no expert, but understand that if the cam cover gasket is leaking, then oil can leak into the spark plug hole and cause misfiring.
I have used an Accuspark HT lead tester, with great success to find a weak spark s-l500.jpg

Thanks for the reply, John. I tested the coil (the best I knew how) and I got no spark in 2 of the leads. I was convinced the pack was knackered, bought a new one and it still won't work. It's actually worse now as one of the leads where I got the spark seems to have a weaker spark and the car won't even start. Maybe the HT leads are gone? Also, one of the coil bolts is seized...anyone know a trick to take it out?

Not sure if anyone is paying attention to this thread, but the problem got worse. I bought new HT leads, a new coil pack, new spark plugs and now the car won't even start. There's no spark in the plugs and for some reason the old coil pack (I was trying variations with the old coil pack and the new leads) began getting real hot. I have no idea what to look for next. I called a mechanic, but he also has no idea (basically did what I had already tried), and he told me he'll get back to me tomorrow with an electrician. If anyone has an idea, please drop a line...