Newby - Buying info request

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greenroom

Hi there, I am a newb and I am looking to buy a 1.7 for my wife and have joined to find out as much as I can before purchasing one.

I have a a few questions if anyone has the time to answer them it would be much appreciated.
1 - How much is a 2001 1.7 worth with between 50 & 60k on the clock, full history at a non Ford Dealer?.
2 - What are the main things to look out for as my wife as fallen head over heals & wants to throw her cash at the 1st one she see's!!.
3 - What optional extras are worth looking out for?.
4 - Does using non factory spec tyres effect the handling as I have seen a nice one with Pirelli P6000's on the rear & Toyo Prox's on the front?
5 - Finally does anyone know of a car for sale in West Yorks that will be going to a new Puma convert.

Cheers

Andrew :p

Hi and welcome to the site :D

We always have the time for people interested in these little cars!

1. Hard to tell without knowing the condition but that's reasonable mileage so I would say anywhere between £2.5k to £3.5k depending on the condition of course. If it's from a dealer and is immaculate you may be looking at slightly more top end too.

2. That happens quite alot! The main things to remember is that the year of the car is not the most important thing, you may well find a dog of a 2001 but then come across a 1999 in perfect condition.

Servicing is important for the 1.7, be sure to check all fluids, especially the oil!

Listen for any noisey knocks from the engine (not everyday running noises but anything out of place)

3. A few optional extras that not all have were

Electric mirrors
Heated front screen (includes heated mirrors)
Air Conditioning
Enhanced in car audio (standard is silver 1 slot 6000 series)

*Leather seats which were also standard on some special edition Pumas