Sheffield 1.7 newbie

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daz89

Hi everyone,
My names daz, i'm 24 from sheffield, and i've just acquired a 2000 red 1.7. for the stunning price of £200!

I'm a newbie here, but was previously a fiesta owners club member where the 1.7 puma engine became very familiar to me.

I have owned some big-ish power stuff previously (300+ bhp) but needed a cheap but fun runabout due to changing job to something that requires lots of motorway miles.

Ok so previous car history time!

First off we have the fez!

I had a lot of plans for this car, but due to it dying a horrible rusty death they never came to fruition.

After that i bought my '98 impreza turbo

A massively capable and fun car, just very thirsty and an absolute joke to insure.

Then i went for a cheaper option and something a bit different, a '95 honda prelude

Eventually the turbo and silly power bug bit me again, so i bought a '98 toyota celica gt four

My favourite and by far the quickest car to date, but one i sadly had to let go (18mpg at best got a bit tiresome)

and finally the one you probably want to see, and the newest edition to my fairly interesting car history.

The '00 1.7 puma

I was actually majorly impressed by just how much fun this is to drive. responsive and revvy little engine, and very easy to throw into a corner. plus quite easy on the wallet (especially with a £200 purchase price).

for now i'm just going to give her a tidy up, but as these things always seem to end up becoming a project, i'll start a project thread and see where we end up haha.

Hi and welcome! Looking forward to seeing what you do with it. :thumbs:

daz89 said:
plus quite easy on the wallet (especially with a £200 purchase price)

Wait until you see the price of consumables and service parts!