How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

This section will mainly be used to provide useful guides for everything from changing your steering wheel to fixing that damn parcel shelf!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
red
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 11168
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:31 pm
Model: Other
Location: Cambridgeshire
Contact:

How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by red » Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:44 pm

Instructions on how to unlock your digital display:

Difficulty: 1/5

Time: 5 mins

Tools: N/A

Parts: N/A

Procedure:

1.With ignition off, hold down the trip mileage button and start the engine, keeping it held down.

2.After a couple of seconds the word ‘test’ will appear.

3.Now release the mileage reset button and use this to scroll through the various readings.

Functions

1 Gauge Test
2 Dial Test
3 Bulb Test
4 Diagnostic Check (Pass displayed)
5 Diagnostic Check (Pass displayed)
6 Clock Type (shows "date 44" if UK)
7 Diagnostic Check
8 Speed MPH (sped E displayed)
9 Speed KPH
10 Revs (rpm)
11 Fuel (estimated miles left on current fuel level)
12 Engine Type (Petr displayed)
13 Temp of Engine (Approx : P46 , C090 when warmed up)
14 Battery Voltage (Approx 14 when running)
15 Diagnostic Check
16 LCD Display
18-30 Diagnostic Checks

Notes:

This will only work with the later models sporting the Digital Odometer.
To turn this setting off, simply turn the ignition off.

DTC Codes:
http://www.projectpuma.com/viewforum.php?f=107" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
0 x

User avatar
Dal
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 14743
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:27 pm
Model: Other

Post by Dal » Mon Mar 17, 2008 3:37 pm

Here's a guy doing it on his Fiesta (same dash)

0 x

pumaRVX
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:46 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by pumaRVX » Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:41 pm

if there were anything wrong with the car will this let you know please get back to me thanks looking to buy puma 2moro
0 x

ScubaSteve
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 3749
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 10:50 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by ScubaSteve » Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:46 pm

not really, the dtc test isnt that comprehensive, worth checking it anyway
0 x

User avatar
Scotty1.7
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:25 pm
Model: 1.7
Location: Shaw

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by Scotty1.7 » Thu Aug 19, 2010 3:21 pm

Quick question- Bee has a digi dash and yet won't go in diag mode??
0 x
16 Months of 0 Action- Aug 10 to Dec 11- 5 months down, 11 to go
BumbleBee- The First AutoBot Puma
Mods- Tinted/ Pipercross Viper/ Exhaust- Custom Powerflow/ Lux Pack confirmed!/ Jacko MAF- There FTW/ 16inch SportKA Wheels/ 300mm Brakes/ Full JFS Yellow Under Bonnet Hoses/ 5 PP stickers in 3 colours/ ClarkieMod Grill/ Stripes/ Weitic Coilovers/ Polybushed/ Leather interior

FlashBastd
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:37 pm
Model: Black
Location: West Yorks

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by FlashBastd » Thu Aug 19, 2010 4:12 pm

Then you aren't doing it properly. Make sure that the trip button stays held down from ignition pos 1 until well after the engine is started.
0 x

ScubaSteve
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 3749
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 10:50 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by ScubaSteve » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:16 am

dash dtc codes

Image

also slight innacuracy about the fuel one its volume left not miles left
0 x

User avatar
yippeekiay
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 6205
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:36 am
Model: Other
Location: Up North i.e. 100+ Miles Above Manchester!!!

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by yippeekiay » Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:59 pm

Yes, and the reading only goes far down as 27/28 iirc when I drove until it was more or less empty. iirc it goes to 235 when full. (might have been 325...lol)
0 x
584858495850PUMAImageRX8Image
Meet(s) Attended:- 2008;- Dec-Gateshead 2009;- Jan-Yorks' D, Mar-Leic', Apr-Derby D/Alton T, May-FITP, Jun-Chats', Jul/Aug-Euro Tour, Aug-Hi Force 2010;- May-Nurb'. Aug-FF. Sep-NE Mini Meet 2011;- Feb-Martin B'day, Apr-Nurb1', May-POD(WON), May-FITP, Jun-Nurb2', Aug-FF, Sep-Sheffield, Nov-Stafford(RX) 2012;- Sep-Sheffield 2013;- Mar-Rockingham Next Meet(s):- 2013;- ?????

User avatar
nippydee
Project Petrol Head!
Project Petrol Head!
Posts: 825
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:56 pm
Model: 1.4
Location: West Lancs...Ooop 'north Cumbria

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by nippydee » Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:34 pm

Handy to know - thanks for the heads up x :)
0 x
Tina - Ex owner of Pips. Moondust 1.4 Lux.

Cars, like coins, grow dear as they grow old: It is the rust we value, not the gold.”
it is better to spend one day as a tiger than a lifetime as a sheep...
Meets Attended: Sheffield Sept 2009 - Lymm (Warrington M56) April 2010, May 2010, July 2010, Sept 2010, Oct 2010, Nov 2010, Dec 2010 - Leicester March 2010

User avatar
Xrion236
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:59 am
Model: FRP

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by Xrion236 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:46 am

sorry if this is off topic but i thought this was going to say "How to put your digital clocks back 1hr" HAHAHA
0 x

Catweasel
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:26 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by Catweasel » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:25 pm

Very handy !
0 x
2001 Ford Puma 1.7 1971 Triumph GT6 Mk3 2016 VW Polo GTI 1.8 Tsi

User avatar
sccc
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:47 pm
Model: 1.6
Location: Budapest, Hungary

How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by sccc » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:45 pm

Hi,

I would like to ask the meaning of the P at the part:

"13 Temp of Engine (Approx : P46 , C090 when warmed up)"

The C stands for Celsius of I'm right, but I can't figure out the P.
0 x

Synister
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:04 pm
Model: 1.7

How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by Synister » Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:02 pm

This may also help:

Odometer Display Description
GAGE Activates gauge sweep of all gauges, then displays present gauge values. Also carries out the checksum tests on ROM and EE. If the gauge sweep is inoperative, INSTALL a new instrument cluster.
All segments illuminated Illuminates all odometer segments. If any odometer segment is inoperative INSTALL a new instrument cluster.
bulb Illuminates all micro-controlled indicators and LEDs. Install a new indicator or LED as necessary.
r Returns to normal operation of all micro-controlled indicators and LEDs and displays hexadecimal value for ROM level. (used when requesting assistance from the hotline). If alternating flashes for FAIL and ROM level are displayed, INSTALL a new instrument cluster.
EE Displays the hexadecimal value for EE level (used when requesting assistance from hotline). If alternating flashes of FAIL and EE level are displayed replace instrument cluster.
dt Displays hexadecimal coding of final manufacturing test date (used when requesting assistance from hotline).
dtc Displays continuous DTC's in hexadecimal format. Pressing the SELECT/RESET button will display any DTCs stored before proceeding to the next step.
enG Displays the English speed in MPH. Speedometer will indicate present speed within tolerances. Display will show 0 if input in not received. If input is invalid for one second or more, or if speed is 0.
m Displays the metric speed data in kph. Speedometer will indicate present speed within tolerances. Display will show 0 if input in not received. If input is invalid for one second or more, or if speed is 0.
tAc Displays the tachometer data received from the PCM via the SCP network within tolerances. Tachometer will indicate present RPM. Display will show 0 if input is no received, if input received is invalid for one second or more, or if engine RPM is 0.
FUEL Displays the code (0-255) for the fuel sender input to the HEC. The fuel gauge will display a filtered fuel level value. This filter will keep the pointer from moving suddenly or erratically.
255 open send +/- 0
232 full stop +/- 0
215 Full mark +/- 10
178 3/4 mark +/- 8
138 1/2 mark +/- 7
93 1/4 mark +/- 5
41 E mark +/- 4
54 Low Fuel (0-59)
0-18 short (0-20 max)

OIL Displays the code (0-250) for the oil pressure switch input to the HEC. Oil pressure gauge will indicate present oil pressure. Normal oil pressure (greater than 6psi) will display a value between 000 and 176. A low oil pressure or an inoperative engine oil pressure switch (less than 6 psi) will display a value greater than 176.
dEGC Display of engine temperature in Degrees C input from cylinder head temperature sensor.
49 C "C" mark
60 C Normal band start
120 C Normal band end
-40 C No SCP message for 5 seconds

bAtt Displays the code (0-255) for the battery voltage input to the HEC. Battery voltage gauge will indicate present battery voltage.
93-102 6.2-9.1 volts, low voltage
115-124 8.5-10.7 volts, Normal band start
215-225 15.8-18 volts, Norm band end
230-241 16.9-19.1 volts, high voltage

rhEo Displays the present decimal rheostat dimming input, 0-255 (used when requesting assistance from the hotline)
rhi
rhS
rho Not used.
Cr Displays the current RUN/START sense input. Display will show -h for high input with the ignition switch in the START position and -L for low input with the ignition switch in the RUN position.
PA-PE7 not used.
GAGE Repeats the display cycle
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “How To Guides”