Heated Front Screen not working

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

-B-

I tried it for the first time, when the inside of the screen misted up. Light for the switch came on (I’m not confusing it with the rear screen switch), but nothing happened. Screen felt cold when touched.

I thought the heated screen might have been replaced with a standard screen at some point, especially as I hadn’t seen that network of wires in the screen that sometimes, some owners can see. That was until a few days back, when the light conditions must have been just right, and I caught a glimpse of a pattern of vertical lines in the screen.

So what’s likely stopping my screen from working? Fuse maybe?

Hi

Im no expert, but check the fuse 1st, theres also a relay for it too as it uses a lot of current!
Cant remember which fuse box relay is in should tell you in owners manual. Any way it should "click" when heated screen turned on as far as im aware. If not it may be faulty.

Happened to mine. I changed the fuse and checked the wiring behind the pillar cover but no luck as it was still lighting the switch up but no heated screen. I could hear a click behind the fuse panel inside the car but couldn't fathom out how to get to the relay to change/check it without ripping out a shed load of wiring. Anyway, car sold and new owner changed the relay and the screen worked so worth checking yourself.

Can anyone help a (clueless) damsel in distress?
The heated front screen window on my 1998 Puma 1.7 has stopped working. The light on the dash no longer goes on and the screen does not de-mist. I've read it's not a fuse in the box under the steering wheel that I need to replace - but something more tricky UNDER the bonnet. Does anyone know:
1. What I need to buy?
2. Where I might buy it from?
3. Where I put it when I've got it?