MOT Failed in first few seconds...

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xnbradley

Just dropped off #32 at my local F1 Autocentre for its MOT...

As I was walking down the street towards work... I get a phone call... it failed its MOT as the tester reversed the car out to bring it into the garage... power Steering not working at all... doh...

I did think it was heavy but like a complete Newbie... the guy I bought it from said that it was heavier than normal cars because of teh suspension/tyre width/grip etc... this is how sports cars drive... I have been building up my arm muscles since...

Feel a bit silly to be honest... although I am really looking forward to driving it when the power steering is actually working...

oh well... mustn't grumble...

Just had another call...

Also failed on emissions and it needs some welding done...

So I think it is time to take it off the road and spend the winter/Spring getting it all sorted... good thing I have the Puma Black to run around in... although I have to put it all back together now... doh...

wife is not going to be happy...

The emissions failure might not be too much of a problem. With a FRP the car needs to be really hot to get the cat working as it's further away from the exhaust manifold than in a standard Puma. If they've tested it without getting the car hot it will fail. If the failure is on exceeding CO tell them to get the car stinking hot and then re-test it. It may well pass then.
Barry

Think its more a question of cost than knowledge.

Do also remember steering assistance equipment is exactly the same as the standard car, ie. cheap and fairly readily available. Might struggle a touch on the pipes but I try to carry a stock. Pump / rack no shortage at all.