Advice on purchasing and owning after six years away please

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BowenRacing

Need some advice. Thinking of returning to the Puma after six years. Need advice on how much I'll pay for one, how much insurance will cost (and from where) for a second car, and how much hassle and cost I'll incur owning an 'old' car.

I owned my Puma from new for 20 years, and wrote it off in a 15mph bump on a roundabout. My Fiesta ST Line is ok, but I wish I hadn't let go of my Puma so easily (I didn't have the time or resources to buy it and SORN it at the time).

Over the last six years it seems that most Pumas have disappeared from the roads in the last few years, probably due to the cost of keeping them on the roads. They're pretty old now, and I am no mechanic.

1. I see that some have sold on this forum, but there's no info on price. How much would a decent 1.7 silver one cost? I don't mind a bit of wheel-arch rust (I could probably treat and respray myself with my 1980's skills), but anything welding related would have to be done professionally and I don't have a lot of time or money for that. Must be tidy inside. Must run well and be sporty still.

2. As a second car, I'll need second car insurance. For comparison, with business use, I pay about £340pa for my Fiesta ST Line now. Which insurance companies are likely to be good, and roughly how much for third party, fire and theft?

3. For a general, fun, runabout, am I in for lots of mechanical problems and expense (and time), or would a well looked after one be minimal hassle like my original one was? What's the owner experience like nowadays?

Any other tips welcome.

Thanks for reading.

Puma.jpg

Hello, I'm sorry about your 1st Puma, thats really tough. My first one got written off too.