1.6 to 1.7 engine swap

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PVB507

Hi guys!

I own a Puma 1.6, but the engine is on it's way to certain death. The big end bearings are on their way out... So right now, it's sitting on my driveway, while I recently purchased a (really fantastic) Clio RS 197.

I have done a bit of thinking and came up with an idea... why not change the complete engine? I know, it's better to sell the car for scrap, engine swap is a lot of work, costs a lot of money, blabla. But I have some free time and I like to get my hands dirty, so why not change the 1.6 for the 1.7?

But before I embark on such a project I want to ask a few things. First and foremost, I'm not a mechanic, and I have never done an engine swap myself. However, I know my way around an egine, know how to use tools, am eager to learn, and will not simply back down after a failure. Also, I have some friends which know their way around cars. So, how much of an expert job is it? Can it be pulled off by a unexperienced bloke with a wide arrangement of tools, surrounded by a couple of skilful friends?

Furthermore, I have some specific questions:
  • Does a 1.7 fit easily on the 1.6 engine mounts?
  • Is the 1.6 gearbox the same and does it fit on a 1.7?
  • I assume I will need a 1.7 ECU, is it plug and play?
  • Cooling components: are they the same?

I am really looking forward to your responses! I am eager to start, so fire away! :grin:

The zetec-se engines are all physically the same. The one difference of the 1.7 is the RHD (as you sit in the car) mount. The other two (gearbox mount and torque link). Cooling circuit is the same. Gearboxes are also the same regarding mounting but there are difference in ratios between 1.6 and 1.7.