Clunking noise at low speed

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

perdrix

The noise appears to be coming from front off-side, and is more noticeable after a driving a mile or so.

We took it to the stealership who had it for a couple of days and eventually did find a fault which was a sub-frame bolt that had worked loose ( :shock: )! So they torqued it back up, and what's better they didn't even charge a penny!!! :)

However the problem is still present :(

Driver side wheel off, and tried pushing, pulling, twisting etc.. When I turned driveshaft CW/CCW I got a loud "clack" which sounded like it was the inner CV.

However I'm no great expert on the underside stuff :( I don't want to replace lots of stuff (£££) and find the problem is still there!

About three years back I replaced all suspension bushes with polyurethane ones, fitted new ball joints to front lower arms and fitted new struts/shocks.

Is there anyone near Kenilworth, Warwickshire that's good at diagnosing suspension issues?

PS Is there a good guide on how to replace the drive shafts if that's what's needed? Where should I get replacements from?

Thanks
David

I vaguely remember something like this in mine, it was in April 2011 :lol:
It only happened when I drove round a roundabout, never on a straight & I don't think it happened when turning a sharp corner slowly - can't recall exactly.

I do remember the problem showed it's face several months after I'd lowered the car which highlighted the wear is my guess. I'd previously renewed pretty much everything else suspension related (drop links, ARB bushes, wishbones, bearings etc) so I could pinpoint the cluncking fairly easily.

I guessed it was my CV joint & I ended up buying secondhand drive shafts from a salvage yard which only cost me £45 for the pair which fortunately fixed my problem. They were easy to fit as I did them myself. :roll: