DSLR discussion

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chris3boro

Thought it might be a good idea to make a general discussion thread about DSLRs seen as more and more people are using them.

First point of discussion, for a 1st DSLR, is it worth going for the Canon 450d over the Nikon D60?

Would have thought either of them would be okay - but I am far from an expert.... very very very far :)

My first foray into the DSLR world - about a 18 months ago - I picked up a Pentax dont think it is as user friendly as either of those 2, and the lens/accessories are harder to find (I believe)... but it works for me. {For the little I have made use of it}.

I think I'm right in saying the D60 has the AF in the body, so in theory, any lens you put on it can be driven to AF rather than having to buy a more expensive AF lens.

I know my D50 does that :)

have a read here:

http://www.dpreview.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

as they are an excellent resourse of info and unbiased opinion.

Ignore what I said then! D'oh! Must be the D70 that does, not the D60. The D40 / D60 is the top end of the "base" range of Nikon, where as my D50 is the bottom of the "mid" range if you get what I mean.

Look at the chart here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nikon_D50" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

If I don't get a job soon, my D50 might be up for sale....

Dal said:
Ignore what I said then! D'oh! Must be the D70 that does, not the D60. The D40 / D60 is the top end of the "base" range of Nikon, where as my D50 is the bottom of the "expert" range if you get what I mean.

If I don't get a job soon, my D50 might be up for sale....

Yeh, thought the 450d doesn't have it built in either i don't think. Both come with image stabilisation kits though.

450d has these benefits:

3.5 fps continous shooting rather than 3.0 on D60
3'' screen not 2.5''