Engine Mod or Engine Upgrade?

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dr@c

Hi all, I've tried having a scan for this already so I apologise if this has been covered.
I'm basically wondering if upgrading the existing 1.7 engine is the way to go, or just go for a complete upgrade.

But also if an upgrade was chosen, then what upgrade?? Is it worth going for something like this?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-0L-Zetec-Black-Top-Engine-Zetec-R-135-BHP-Phase-3-Kit-Car-Race-Brand-New-/300921013693" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Or is there anything bigger? I'm not gonna pretend I'm an expert when it comes to Ford engines or the Puma for that matter, hence I'm here :lol:

The way I look at it is you can spend up to £1000 to upgrade an engine depending what your doing, such as re-maps, port and polishing and all that stuff, and of course buying a bigger sized engine standard would mean more cost if you wanted to get more out of that. I dunno what do you guys think?
Any help or opinions appriciated :thumbs:

Cheers

EDIT: also is this worth a buy?
http://www.pumaspeed.co.uk/product-Puma-1700cc-FRP-Camshaft-Kit_215.jsp" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
And what else would be good with it?

For the extra 10bhp £1k is not worth it, unless your going to do a lot more to it.. also you've got to think of ECU, gearbox, mounting to change etc etc :lol:

£1000 Budget turbo conversion will get you to 180-200bhp on the 1.7 engine if you do your homework and your handy with that kind of stuff. But I'm no pro, I'm sure someone else will chip in soon.

F2eeman said:
For the extra 10bhp £1k is not worth it, unless your going to do a lot more to it.. also you've got to think of ECU, gearbox, mounting to change etc etc :lol: