Newbie. First Puma!

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grant_R

Evening all, hope all is good.

So a brief intro on me; 31 year old male from sunny Slough - some of us have to be. :cool:
Been driving since I was 17, incident free for 14 years and counting, hope it continues!

Had a lot of motors over the years, everything from Nova's back in the day (yeah, was one of them!) borrowed E-classes, Transits, a Punto sport from brand new, you name it!

Am a windscreen / bodyglass fitter by trade, although I left the industry a couple of months back now (it's f*cked) and am currently just in a driver / re-stocker role.

Having sold the 03 Punto a while back now and having relied on a company van, which I had to give back obviously once I left the vehicle glazing world, going two months without a car was starting to get a bit of a strain.

So, with a mediocre budget of 500 quid, became the owner of a 1.7 99 (V) plate red Puma yesterday. Love it already, good solid little Ford and was (nicely) surprised at how quick it shifts to be honest. The girlfriend runs a 96 MGF 1.8 and having a quick lead-footed moment down the Windsor relief road yesterday, absolutely left it for dead. :grin:

I got the garage down to £460 and I'm pretty sure I've picked it up for a snip. 73,053k on the clock as from about an hour ago, MOT until October, £350 fully comp insurance (14 years NCB, but still not bad for living in an SL postcode either)

A few issues with it, which the sales bloke in fairness did mention -
- Key fob isn't functioning, IE, have to just use central locking via key-to-door the good old-fashioned way.
- Door open warning light constantly on, although there is nothing open, including tailgate etc
- Exhaust is a little corroded on the backbox (was an advisory on the last MOT)
- Brakes to me seem to not be as they ideally should be