Supermarket fuel

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iren

I may be throwing the cat amongst the pigeons here but as an ex-fuel tanker driver I can tell you that Asda/Sainsburys/Tesco etc do NOT have their own petrol refineries! When you go into a refinery to load it all comes from the same bulk storage tank regardless of whose name is on the side of the tanker. Now there may be a very slight amount of certain additives that are injected during the loading process but the more important facts to remember are these.

1.Large, busy petrol stations have a fast turn around of fuel so less time for the fuel to go off and pick up water caused by condensation.The lower the fuel level the more risk of condensation. These are problems you will get with smaller, rural stations.

2. There should be no difference between unleaded fuel wherever you get it provided that the garage is managed properly. It is not unheard of that Diesel can accidentally be put into a petrol tank and vice versa by the delivery driver. Do you think they would pump it all out and send it away if it was a small amount, say 1000L of Diesel into a 30000L petrol tank? Take it from me, they will leave it to dilute and you try proving it!! Now petrol into a Deisel tank is a bigger problem but rarely happens because Petrol is gravity discharged into an undergound tank but diesel is normal pumped in by the trucks pump. You do not want to be pumping petrol with the tanker. If you have 6 or 7 compartments of Petrol and Diesel fuel in a tanker that can be mixed up if the driver isn't on the ball.