Fuel Pump Issues

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlackPumaGate

Hello all, hoping for some advice

I have a 2001 1.7 which cranks but doesn't start. So, I think: fuel issue.

Initially I heard no whir when the ignition was on, so checked the fuses and replaced the 10A fuel pump one. The first time I tried it after that I heard a quite loud whir, but the fuse went. Now each time I replace the fuse I hear a sort of sucking sound for about a second, and no loud whir. The fuse blows each time. I replaced the fuel pump relay and no joy. Is there anything else I can try before concluding that it's a fuel pump replace job?

I'm an amateur but willing to have a crack at replacing it if that's the issue, although I can't seem to find that procedure on YouTube. I wonder if the tank needs to come off etc... Any advice warmly welcomed, thank you.

Hello all, hoping for some advice

I have a 2001 1.7 which cranks but doesn't start. So, I think: fuel issue.

Initially I heard no whir when the ignition was on, so checked the fuses and replaced the 10A fuel pump one. The first time I tried it after that I heard a quite loud whir, but the fuse went. Now each time I replace the fuse I hear a sort of sucking sound for about a second, and no loud whir. The fuse blows each time. I replaced the fuel pump relay and no joy. Is there anything else I can try before concluding that it's a fuel pump replace job?

I'm an amateur but willing to have a crack at replacing it if that's the issue, although I can't seem to find that procedure on YouTube. I wonder if the tank needs to come off etc... Any advice warmly welcomed, thank you.
Hi

Yes I would say fuel pump needs replacing. You will need to get underneath the car and take the fuel tank off to swap the pump.
It's only 4 bolts, but disconnecting the fuel filler pipes and fuel lines are a bit fiddly.