Ford mondeo lx 2.0 petrol auto

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikeFRP

Hi. Could anybody give me any help on this for my new car?

It's an 05, has 78k and Is up for sale for £1950.

It's an auto and 2l. Will this chomp petrol, what will it be like to drive daily, it says 4 gear auto! Will it be crap on motorways only have 4 gears.

Whats the reliability like on these?

Anything I can check on the car? Any auto issues that commonly happen. Etc etc.

Any help welcome please. Thanks

The reg Is Nd05vwl

I'm no mechanic but I have just bought an auto (not Mondeo) and so drive both manual and auto cars daily. so...

mikeFRP said:
It's an auto and 2l. Will this chomp petrol
Auto is typicaly 10-15% worse on fuel than the equivalent petrol model
mikeFRP said:
what will it be like to drive daily
depends if you take to the auto or not, if you haven't driven one before make sure you get a long test drive before buying one, maybe even hire one for a day or two just to make sure you're ok with it, I know a few people who have bought an auto and hated them.
mikeFRP said:
it says 4 gear auto! Will it be crap on motorways only have 4 gears
Auto box works in a different way, a manual has a lower 1st gear to aid pulling away slowly, an auto will change up to 2nd at about the speed a manual would go in to 3rd so it's effectivly 1st thats longer in an auto, top gear is about the same ratio as the manual version so no problems at motorway speed.
mikeFRP said:
Whats the reliability like on these
Engine and everything else is the same as the petrol version, auto box is as reliable as any other BUT manual Mondeo's are very expensive to have the clutch and dual mass flywheel replaced (it requires the front sub-frame to be removed from under the car) expect a bill for £800 - £1000 or more fro a manual clutch, which you won't have with an auto.
mikeFRP said: