Key Coding Trouble

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EvilDonut

Hi,
I recently changed the battery in my keyfob as it seemed it was starting to die because it took a lot of pressing to lock/unlock. After the change it was even worse, so I've put it down to the fact its a 10 year old fob and has been semi-eaten by a previous owner's dog. So I went to my ford dealer and bought a replacement keyfob (just the actual RF unit, not the key itself). I managed to code this in to the central locking system with no problems.

However, I cannot start the engine with this new key! I first tried removing the old RF unit and attaching the new one to the key. This allowed me to code the fob in, but not to start the engine. When I swap back to the old RF unit, the engine starts fine.

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to key coding, but from what I can tell there are TWO codes I need to get right - the central locking code (which works) and the ignition/immobiliser code (doesn't work!). I followed my manual's instructions for coding a new key, but it didn't work. The instructions are:

Insert first key (I used a manual spare key with no buttons) and turn to II. Remove. (<5 secs)
Insert second key (I used my main key with OLD RF unit attached) and turn to II. Remove. (<5 secs)
Insert new key (I used my main key again, but quickly transferred the NEW RF unit to it) and turn to II. Remove (<10 secs)
Wait 5 secs, re-insert new key and start engine. (This bit doesn't work! Control light next to clock flashes, as it does when incorrect key inserted)

My current solution is to use the main key with OLD RF unit attached, and have the NEW RF unit on the same keyring for opening/closing doors and use the key to start the engine. I don't like this as I want to just carry one key!