Puma replacement commuter : Aluminium content

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dal

Administrator
Staff member
Picked it up today :)

It's an Audi A2 75TDI SE 2004 with 73000 miles, FSH, climate control, just serviced, new cambelt and a years MOT.

Might seem like a weird choice, but 70mpg and £30 a year tax makes for a sensible 300+ mile a week commute. As a design engineer I appreciate the clever / quirky design and the fact that it's made entirely of Aluminium - >space frame< and body panels - so no rust - ever.

Drove like a dream on the 100 mile trip home. Went better than expected on the motorway especially the 60-80mph over taking ability as I'd forgotten how well diesels overtook since selling my Mondeo ST Tdci. Probably because the engine only has 3 cylinders it has much more character about it compared to a 4 cylinder one. It's also very quiet.

Anyway, pictures now it's home and next to the Cherie's TT:

With faster sister by DAL3D, on Flickr

Funky little flap opens to reveil oil fillup / oil dipstick / screen wash access.

P1040951 by DAL3D, on Flickr

The bonnet then comes off completely as it weighs next to nothing:
P1040965 by DAL3D, on Flickr

False boot floor - battery and tool kit under that:
P1040943 by DAL3D, on Flickr

Traction control switch.. yeah right..
P1040960 by DAL3D, on Flickr

Funky B pillar switches:
P1040967 by DAL3D, on Flickr

6 CD in dash stereo (with tape!) and climate with worn temperature button:
P1040953 by DAL3D, on Flickr

Things to do:

Get the plastic disc off the dash and remove the glue
Get a set of decent wheel centre caps
Give it a bloomin good wash
Get a spare set of alloys or at least a spare wheel
Sort the worn temperature button out

The photos don't really do the colour justice. It's very similar to Cuirass really, and being a pearlescent paint, it's got a lovely shine to it in the sun.