Rob's Steel Blue Puma - First Car Project - Total Novice

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rob987_0

I got my 1.7 Puma back in September and posted in the newbie area to say hello. I always planned to make a project out of it as it but never really made a start with the awful weather. I've got no mechanical experience so everything is a learning curve. I don't have loads of time to work on it with having a full time job and having the little'n but I'll try and keep this updated as much as I can. Luckily I can cycle to work and we have another car which my girlfriend uses so I don't need the Puma back on the road.

I bought the Puma with 42,000 miles on the clock. It had one lady owner, just had it's MOT and cost me £800. I viewed the car in the dark which wasn't the best of ideas but after a good test drive I decided to take a punt. I was chuffed at what I had got for £800, although it did need a major clean!

SI850057.JPG

Problems with the car...
No service history
Cambelt hadn't been changed
Wiper blades were awful
Keyfob had been chewed to bits by their dog so the remote didn't work
Stereo didn't work
Usual rust spots (doors, front wings, rear arches, door sills)

The first thing I did was get it serviced. I also got the cam belt changed for £216 and bought some Bosch wiper blades from ebay. I then sent the key fob away to a guy on ebay and he fixed it. I programmed it using this guide http://www.projectpuma.com/viewtopic.php?t=39

After a good clean, clay bar, polish and wax...
SI850064.JPG

SI850069.JPG