Rob's Steel Blue Puma - First Car Project - Total Novice

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I followed the How To guide and managed to change the rear wheel bearing, however, I managed to destroy the abs ring in the process. I've asked Puma Bits on Facebook if they've got an abs ring they can sell, just waiting for a reply.

D'oh! :-(
IMAG0776.jpg

I needed to use the car so I put the wheel back on without the abs ring and drove it with the abs light on the dash. need to sort it this week to get the MOT re-test.

I managed to get an ABS ring from Puma Bits. Got it fitted and passed its MOT. The car is so much quieter with the new bearings.
IMAG0791.jpg

I also got a Piper Cross induction kit from Puma Bits and fitted that yesterday. Thanks to CherryVimto for your help! :grin:
IMAG0799.jpg

Then a quick wash...
IMAG0800.jpg

I bought a milltek de-cat exhaust from a guy on PumaPeople. Got the local garage to fit as the bolts were ruined on the old one and I couldn't be bothered with the hassle.

I'm not sure if the exhaust is hanging a bit low? Anyone else think it needs lifting a bit higher?
IMAG0903.jpg

Another photo after a quick clean yesterday...
IMAG0889.jpg

Have a look at the hanger above the tail pipe on the rear box. See if it is sitting in the recess for the tail pipe.
I put an Ashley rear box on mine and a 'performance' one on my old Puma. With both of them, the hanger above the tail pipe was too long and would sit in the recess in the bumper.
With the Ashley box, I managed to manipulate it so the hanger pokes in the inside of the bumper, hence allowing it to hang at the right height.

You can get different sizes and thicknesses of rubber mounts too. May you only need to swap the back one for a shorter or stronger rubber.

Just a couple of suggestions from things I've experienced.