The rebuild of no 219

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richard_rip

Hi. I thought some of you might be interested to see the work I'm carrying out of number 219.
We bought her in September 2015 off a chap in London and it had 140k on the clock, he'd had the arches redone and the wheels refurbed but mechanically it had quite a few bits wrong.
This is not a complete list of problems
Clutch was slipping
Accelerator pedal wasn't right
Idle was poor
Leaking a bit of water from somewhere
Kangaroo'd when you accelerated
Indicator stalk didn't work
Passenger window didn't work

The idea was to have this as a weekend/summer car and give me a little project. I've always worked on cars and earlier that year I'd rebuilt the head on a Renaultsport Clio 197 which isn't the easiest of tasks but I really enjoyed it. I'm a precision engineer by trade so I'm a bit of a perfectionist and the idea of a car needing a lot of TLC really appealed to me.

A couple of weeks after we collected her
C95FE9B8-63C5-4552-B6D6-793B64E0A575_zpsg8hc23sw.jpg

I started easy, changed the window regulator, picked up a new unit for the indicator stalks, and new fuel sender unit. The sender unit fixed the kangarooing but it turns out the wires on the fuel gauge were the wrong way round so it reads backwards on the dash, which I kinda like so haven't changed it yet haha.

After a few months of owner her the small water leak had become a haemorrhage, turns out the head gasket was shot as well. I decided I'd do a full and proper job on it by rebuilding the entire engine so I put it under cover until better weather, not to mention the fact we decided to move house.