Hewland PCT Gearbox

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davedrave

Hi Guys,

I am relatively new to all of this so bare with me because I have an awesome project lined up when the funds become available! Currently own a Millennium Edition puma and saving for a 350bhp turbo conversion :grin:!

Now, my worry is that the standard IB5 gearbox (with Quaife ATB) will not only be not strong enough to handle the torque of the engine, but also too darn slow! I don't really wanting to be topping out at say 130/135 or whatever it will do incredibly quickly so have been wondering to myself lately - what can I do?

Well, I have been thinking about at some point maybe changing to an MTX75 gearbox, but I will leave that to another discussion.

What I have been considering lately is a Hewland PCT 6 speed 'box. Has anyone had an experience with this gearbox? Can anyone tell me if it is a dog box/straight cut gears - or whatever the noisy one is lol - or if it is a normal helical gearbox as this will be a normal road car with all the creature comforts, restored to show car stander to hopefully one day be featured in Fast Ford mag! Basically, I don't want it to become too noisy that is not enjoyable. Does anyone know if the sequential gearboxes are any good/no good for normal round town driving either?

Apologies for such a long message and I look forward to any replies!

They have about a £6k price tag and you will be rebuilding it every few thousand miles, for road use MTX75 is a better and much cheaper option, I think Pumanoob (errol) is using one in his car running that sort of power with a 2.3 turbo engine and he hasnt broken that yet.

Look forward to seeing progress

Simon

Wow, that is a very large price tag indeed! Almost as much as the price of the engine build alone, that will come in a few years maybe - we shall see.