Running rich

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom1987

Hi all first time post, ill keep it to bullet points.
•2002 1.7 70k 4-2-1 mani sports cat tape ecu. Servicing good correct oil used etc (im a diag tech but not a ford tech, which is whats killing me not knowing whats wrong)
• recently lacking power feels like 10-20% gone, trying to stall when slowing down, but idle seems fine 850- 900ish rpm, hot or cold still the same, burning through fuel 95 or 99, 20 litres of either use to do 160miles now getting 80miles
• have snap on scanner no lights on dash but sometimes engine running rich fault code appears after 30 min town/motor way driving
• live data, o2 sensor sweeping up and down but not smooth and between .1- .7 not going up to .9? Also scanner reads flicking between open closed circuit whilst driving.
Icv flicking between open and closed whilst driving.
Maf at idle .9volts and changes smoothly with driving 4.7volts w.o.t. T.p reads roughly the same and smooth.
Coolant temp, air temp all read correctly. Short term fuel trim reads -15 at idle then will go to 0 when driving. Long term trim reads-25 then goes between -15 and -25 when driving. (Over fueling)
• ive changed maf sensor, coil pack, leads and plugs, o2 sensor, replaced wiring to o2 sensor (found white wire had .2 resistance) reset keep alive memory set idle and drive it. It seems every time i change something it behaves differently not sure if better but have got some power back after changing coil pack leads and plugs But cant see where else to turn except poss compression test?
If anyones got another route to take id be appreciative many thanks

Check the static cam timing. If it's not had a belt and tensioner kit recently the belt may have jumped and knocked the timing out.