Towing options for"buttercup"

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zinc2000

Right gang need some advice please.

As some of you will know my aborted southbound trip has led me to reconsider the options for future such adventures.

So..do I go for trailer, towing dolly or A frame? :?

Trailer seems a bit excessive plus adds overall weight so will probably discount this option (unless of course I come across a really cheap car trailer)

Towing dolly seems like a lighter option for towing, plus it will be easier to store as it would fit in the garage whereas a trailer will need to occupy space in the drive.

A frame is most certainly the easiest to store but and here is the but...will it fit on the Puma as it is quite low at the front.

Towing a trailer is no problem for me, same applies to the dolly but I have never used an A frame before.

Any helpful suggestions welcome

Bit of a funny area, towing dollys and A frames. Lots of discussion on using these, as they (and the towed vehicle) are treated as a trailer. "Trailers having a combined axle mass not exceeding 750kg are not required to have brakes fitted. However, if the trailer (regardless of mass) is fitted with a braking system, then all brakes in that system must operate correctly."
Here's one of many links:
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/a-frames-and-dollies/a-frames-and-dollies

Thanks YOG, have just read all the regulations regarding towing dollies and A frames, my god its a nightmare as it seems that basically you can't :-(
Unless the dolly has overrun brakes (which most don't) or suspension (which most of them don't) you seem to be breaking the law, wonder how many policemen actually realise that?
So guess it will have to be a trailer then.....crap :-(