Self service and other questions!

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shimmyhill

I have decided that i will be doing as much work on my car as i can - services and basic jobs (i have no experience to speak of, changed the HCV and battery on Puma and that is all i have ever done on a car!)

I have some basic tools but will be building up a collection as i need them - from fellow Puma owners what should i be getting (thinking torque wrenches, incidentally is there a guide with the various torque settings about?) I have a Halfords advanced set of spanners/sockets etc and will be getting feeler gauges and tools needed for basic service.

Something i will not be tackling myself is the rear brake pipes, advisory on last MOT and look in bad shape - what kind of cost should i expect from a garage for them to be replaced?

Another question i have is relating to the Aux belt - ford have quoted £223 for parts alone for the belt and tensioner, ford parts not cheaper but still 160+ any tips to find cheaper prices, europarts dont seem to carry the tensioner?

Any help and advice is most welcome, i am a beginner but happy to learn as i want to keep the costs down and my knowledge up!

search for gates timing belt kit, the same as what ford use but sold seperately cheaper

@Steve he's asking about an aux belt though? Surely the belt is about £20 at most?

oh yeah, teach me for reading quickly, saying that i think my aux belt is gates too, might be wrong

The belt is cheap everywhere but the tensioner not - Ford Parts want £124+vat :eek: cheaper than Ford but still!!!

Ebay seem to have them for £80 but say its for the setup with AC, mine is without...

Me again ;)

Firstly - any guide to torque settings around the car?